Facebook icon
Twitter icon

Smithtown Dems Support LI Cares

Smithtown Democrats

Click: Support LI Cares  **You do not need to be a Facebook user to make a donation through Facebook**

Dear Smithtown Democrats,

We hope this letter finds you safe and healthy.  These are difficult days. Our friends and neighbors are hurting – we ourselves, may be hurting.  The greatness of the Democratic Party lies in our deep tradition of public service. Our Party has always been there to serve the most vulnerable.  The COVID-19 crisis has taken a huge human toll; as Democrats, we are again called upon to help our fellow citizens. 
The Smithtown Democratic Party Executive Committee has voted to donate $500 to 
Long Island Cares.  This organization, founded by Harry Chapin in 1980, is based in the Town of Smithtown and helps supply food pantries islandwide, including several in our town.  They provide services for many populations, including children and veterans, and they have a robust emergency response service with food trucks that can be dispatched wherever there is a need.
Please join us in contributing to this worthwhile organization – they put every penny to good use. This fundraiser is being run through the Smithtown Democratic Committee Facebook Group. Facebook does not collect any fees; LI Cares will receive 100% of all donated funds.  You will also receive a donation receipt from Facebook for tax purposes.  Please consider donating a few dollars – the cost of a coffee – or more if you can afford it.  If you are in a position of food insecurity, please contact us by replying to this message.
Contributions via the SDC Facebook page can be made here: 
Support Long Island Cares

Contributions via the LI Cares website can be made here: 
Support Long Island Cares

Remember, we rise by lifting others. Thank you for helping during this time of tremendous need and uncertainty.

Smithtown Democratic Committee, Executive Board
Edward Maher, Chair
Richard Macellaro, Executive Vice-Chair
Jan Singer, First Vice-Chair
Howard Knispel, Second Vice-Chair
Fredrica Berger, Treasurer
Patty Stoddard, Corresponding Secretary
Anita Schnierman, Recording Secretary
Maria LaMalfa, Membership Co-Chair
Amy Fortunato, Membership Co-Chair