Facebook icon
Twitter icon

General Membership Meeting Tuesday March 4th

Jason Zove
Smithtown Democratic Committee

Special General Membership Meeting
Tuesday, March 4, 2014 – 7:30 PM
VFW Hall, 40 Church Street, Kings Park, NY 11754

Dear Smithtown Democrats:

I hope that everyone is staying warm during this rough winter.

It is our responsibility as committeepersons to protect and defend our democratic principles. This year we have two critical congressional races. The guest speakers for our March 4th meeting will be Isaac Goldberg, Campaign Coordinator for Congressman Steve Israel, and Keith Davies, Campaign Coordinator for Congressman Tim Bishop.

At the March 4th meeting, we will be distributing petitions for these two important seats and we will collect them at our regularly scheduled monthly meeting which will take place on Monday, March 31, same time and place. The special guest speaker at that meeting will be Town of Babylon Supervisor and Suffolk County Democratic Committee Chairman Rich Schaffer.

In addition to the congressional races, we will be working this year to re-elect Governor Andrew Cuomo, Comptroller Tom DiNapoli, Attorney General Eric Schneiderman and Judge Sandra Sgroi to the New York State Supreme Court Appellate Division, as well as supporting candidates for New York State Assembly against Michael Fitzpatrick and New York State Senate against John Flanagan.

Please reach out to Chairman Ed Maher by telephone at 631-258-6915, or via email to either or if you are interested in running for public office this fall. The screening committee will start to convene in March.

Just a quick reminder – the committee’s St. Patrick’s Flap Jack Breakfast Fundraiser is set for Sunday, March 9, 8am-10am at the Applebees on Veterans Highway in Commack. Please contact Ed Maher if you are interested in attending or volunteering.

As always, please visit our website, and like us on Facebook for updates and important issues.

The Chairman and I look forward to seeing everyone at this important meeting.

Jason E. Zove
Corresponding Secretary