Facebook icon
Twitter icon

About Us

The Smithtown Democratic Committee

The Smithtown Democratic Committee is the local organization of the Suffolk County Democratic Committee. We are the volunteers whose grassroots activities give our candidates the edge in local campaigns. We are united by principles and philosophy and we work together to make sure that our elected officials embody our beliefs.

Executive Committee

This committee is composed of the Chair, Vice Chairs, Secretary, Treasurer, Zone Leaders and two local New York State Democratic Committee members. It is the business of these individuals to lead the committee in raising money, screening candidates and organizing campaigns. The Executive Committee knows that the success of the Democratic Party is due to the work and dedication of many persons.

The Town Democratic structure

Each of Suffolk's ten towns has its own Democratic Committee, with a chair and officers who serve the Town's Democratic committee. Towns are geographically divided into Election Districts and each district has two Democratic committee members, responsible to serve the voters in that neighborhood. Town committee members are simultaneously members of the Suffolk County Democratic Committee.